DIY Teacup Bee & Bird Bath♥

teacupbb

Hello!

giphy (1)

It has been HOT here in Tacoma and its only May. I am not prepared for this. I am not ready for boob sweat!

tumblr_me8jgdozHC1rijx2to2_r2_250

I have been doing a lot of gardening recently and have been noticing that my yard is actually attracting a good amount of bees and butterflies!

I have seen this Teacup Bird Feeder floating around the internet, and it was such a cute idea I had to make one for all the thirsty critters visiting my yard!

I have a large collection of teacups and chose one I wasn’t too invested in, (but still liked obviously).

I also gathered some heavy duty super glue, white spray paint, and a round wooden stake from a banister I demolished when we remodeled our house. I’m all about recycling!

This project is super simple, It can be as easy as gluing three pieces together, or you can make it as fancy and custom as your heart desires.

I started out by painting the wooden stake, it was fine as a natural wood finish, but I really wanted it to stand out!

As that was drying, I Gorilla Glued the saucer to the teacup and let that dry for a few hours to make sure the glue was securely set. The Gorilla Glue doesn’t dry clear, so if that bothers you, you should definitely use another type of super glue. I’m probably going to put bird seed around the saucer in the future, so I was OK with the slightly yellow hue it left. The birds don’t judge!

After the paint and glue were dry, I glued the painted wooden stake to the bottom of the saucer.

I was a little overzealous with the glue when I attached the steak and saucer together, so the underside is a little ugly…but I really wanted to make sure it was on there for good!

You will have to prop this up to dry for at least 10 hours.

…and then voila!

Filled my little creation up with water and waited for some bees, butterflies, or birds to wet their whistles!

tumblr_ncw33ung5G1s8wi38o1_400

Super cute!

Till next time!

♥Shelby

Leave a Reply

