Easy DIY Mini Herb Garden♥

20160318_162005

Hey y’all!

Today I have a really easy, affordable, and 99.9% “no fail” gift option for you!

I say 99.9% “no fail” because, well… the recipient does have to water it at least once a year sometimes.

phoebe-but-i-dont-want-to

Yeah, yeah, ugh… work.

However, even though this is a “tutorial” on how to make a mini herb garden, a succulent garden will be non edible  just a awesome, but you (or your recipient), won’t have to water it nearly as often. So, if you or your recipient are prone to killing plants, this may be a better route for you.

20160318_130309

…and seriously, how cute are those?

This herb garden was a birthday gift for my mom, because she loves to garden and cook, it was a perfect gift idea!

20160318_130101

I started by taking a trip to Home Depot and picking my herbs and ceramic pot. I chose rosemary, mint, and oregano to put into the mix, they are some of my personal favorites. There are ten thousand a few vessels to choose from, I picked this pretty, blue pot. It matches my mom’s kitchen perfectly! Since I wanted this to go indoors, I liked how it had a lip on the bottom so there is no mess on the counter after you water. The vessels vary from $3 to over $100, so whatever your budget is, you have options. This pot was $13, a good price for a good quality, medium sized pot.

20160318_155218

Assembly time!

20160318_155142

20160318_155125

Start by filling half the vessel with soil, and then carefully arrange your herbs, then top off with soil.

I wanted to label the herbs to add and extra touch. I had some wood chippings left over from the wood my husband chopped for our wood stove, so I wrote the names with Sharpie on those pieces. I like the raw-ness (yes, it’s a word), of them!

20160318_161014

Even though I like how these signs turned out, to be fancier, you can totally buy these at Hobby Lobby and be cooler than me trendy and awesome.

1088442_1[5]

I also added a few black river stones to give this gift another cute touch.

Here it is!

20160318_162005

20160318_162012

Water that sucker and slap on a card, you’re done!

Easy, affordable and really, really thoughtful!

Each herb was around $3, plus the pot which was $13. So, this gift was around $22!

I already had the soil and my other extra touches, making them free to me.

This mini garden now sits in a sunny spot next to my mom’s kitchen, it smells wonderful!

I hope this has inspired you to make one of your own, I definitely wanted one all to myself once I was done!

tumblr_nvsutjsnQ51req0yeo1_500

Until next time!

♥Shelby

 

Leave a Reply

