Deliciously Easy Crock-Pot Apple Butter♥

20150914_154055-1-0

Fall is upon us!

Each year in Washington it gets progressively unbearable muggy and hot during the summer months, which makes Autumn a gift from God welcome change!

All seasons in Washington are glorious (except maybe the tail end of winter…dirty slush and icy rain anyone?) Spring is hands down my absolute favorite season. However, every year when Fall rolls around it is painted beautifully by Washington with it’s ruby and golden leaves, crisp air, and annual comfort drinks, the season does rival my favoritism for Spring just a little.

I was out taking a walk when I stumbled upon a house not too far from mine with two HUGE apple trees in the front yard! Since I am shameless my outgoing, mother’s daughter, I have no problem waltzing up to a stranger’s door and asking if I can pick some apples off their tree! The homeowner was super nice and told me he didn’t eat them and that I could have as many as I wanted! Score! I collected about 20-25 large apples and went on home to decide what fun project I could do with them. I settled on making Apple Cobbler and Apple Butter, how could it go wrong?

It did go wrong.

As I began peeling and cutting the apples, I noticed that most of them were totally infested with DISGUSTING worms.

ok_080713_the-hills-upset

I have a strong stomach and not much grosses me out, but honestly, I hate worms, centipedes, and grubs. There is something about them that just makes me want to dry heave, run away, and cry all at once.

1379742625484400457

So, as you can imagine that project ended rather abruptly.

Couple weeks went by, and I decided to give apple butter making another go, this time I just bought some apples from the local store and decided to just leave my neighbors trees alone. Maybe next year the apple-worm infestation wont be so bad? Oh well, onto better things!

Here is the recipe for my Crock Pot Apple Butter!

You Will Need: 

Crock Pot

Stirring Utensil 

 5 lbs Apples (Variety is best! I used Granny Smith, Gala, and Golden Delicious) 

1/2 Cup White Sugar 

1/2 Cup Truvia (or White Sugar)

2 Tbsp Brown Sugar

1 Cup Water 

2 1/2 Tbsp Lemon Juice 

3 Tsp Cinnamon 

1 Tsp Nutmeg (If you don’t have Nutmeg, add one extra Tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice)

2 Tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice 

Canning Jars (or air tight tupperware for freezing)

Assembly:

Peel, core and cut all apples into medium sized chunks and place all of them into the crock pot.

20150912_151312-1

Pour water and lemon juice on top of apples, then add in the sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice. Stir with spatula or wooden spoon until well combined.

2015-09-15 12.22.54

Cover apples with lid and put crock pot on high for one hour. 

After the one hour is up, take off high heat, give the apples another stir, and place on low heat for 8-10 hours. 

Then, sit back and let the apples do their thing! I like to make this in the late afternoon or early evening so it can cook down while I sleep. I love waking up to the whole house smelling like pure apple heaven!

When it is finished, the apple butter will be reduced by a little more than half and will be a very deep amber-brown color. You can freeze this mixture if you don’t want to can it like I did. I did a simple hot water bath canning technique with Kerr Mason Jars. If you want to learn how to can (it’s easy!) you can click here for a great resource from FrugalLivingNW!

Now eat it by the spoonful make some pancakes or biscuits and smother them in this delicious autumn concoction!

Enjoy!

♥Shelby

2 thoughts on “Deliciously Easy Crock-Pot Apple Butter♥

Leave a Reply

