A Pie Social♥

20150905_141028-1-0

I love pie.

No, wait, let me rephrase that.

Pie is one of my favorite things in the entire universe.

I love everything about it. It can be warm, cold, or Al a Mode, I will gobble it up with not a flaky crumb remaining.

I love that every one has a favorite flavor, I love that it is an American classic, and yet a universal comfort food.

I love that each of our grandmothers have a special, unique pie recipe, and some of us were lucky enough to learn and master it.

 Most importantly, I love that pie never fails to bring people together.

For my 24th birthday, I had the pleasure of hosting a Pie Social at my house with my wonderful family and friends. It was simple and perfect, the twenty some guests that were invited had one job: To bring a pie to share with the rest of us! The pie could be store bought or homemade, regular or gluten free, sweet or savory, any kind you wanted! The party was a hit, and we all got to taste new and creative flavors, (Marionberry-Pecan anyone?) I also included a savory section for pallet cleansing between each pie. In my platter I included sausage, various cheeses, crackers, nuts, grapes, and a hummus option. I also provided lots of whipped cream and gallons of delicious vanilla bean ice cream. Go big or go home! Oh, and don’t forget the beverages! Something simple like lemon water is always perfect to cut sweetness and refresh the pallet. I provided a mildly sweet, home brewed, Mango Iced Tea and Unsweetened Raspberry Sparking Water (with lemon).

I regret not taking more photos (I was having too much fun stuffing my face), but I thought I would share with you a couple snaps of my big day and maybe inspire you to throw your own Pie Social! Fall is upon us, what better way to try out that new Maple Pumpkin Pie recipe and bring your loved ones together!?

Thank God swimsuit season is over, right?

regina-george-sweatpants

WORTH IT!

I hope you all have had a wonderful start to September, and I highly encourage you to host your own Pie Social, (sweatpants optional).

Till next time,

Shelby♥

Leave a Reply

