Extreme China Hutch Makeover♥

ChinaHutch

Are you ready for this?!

I am so excited to share this transformation with you today! This was such a rewarding project and an AWESOME birthday gift!

For my birthday last week, my husband went to OfferUp.com and started looking for some buffets and hutches/china cabinets that were in need of some serious lovin’. I have been looking for a china hutch since we moved into our home. I was getting anxious to finally unpack my tea cup collection and my great grandmothers china that I inherited! I was just tickled that my husband thought of getting me a hutch for my birthday! The good ‘ol boy that he is, he forwarded me some pictures of the contenders he thought would be fitting for our space and my personal style. We went back and fourth sending each other links of possible hutches and landed on this beauty (yikes) from the 80’s! The lady selling it originally wanted $250 and we scored her for a whopping…wait for it…$50!

tumblr_ms2nllBIDb1s7wneso5_250

I know, right!?

A total steal!

20150821_17495920150821_175250

Once it got plopped onto the front porch I wasted no time getting it cleaned, lightly sanded and primed! However, my sweet, infant daughter had other ideas, so the priming part took about 8,000 a couple more hours than it should of. I was so excited to finally have a new project in my life that I contemplated pulling an all-nighter just to see the finished project!

Yeah, right.

My daughter, Dahlia, pulled a huge cranky show before bedtime that squashed all those crazy aspirations. I went to bed and decided it would be better to actually get some sleep, (wait, what is that again?) and wake up refreshed less exhausted Saturday morning.

Alright, let’s finish this baby!

20150822_155851

The morning was sluggish and it was hard to make progress (life with an infant), but I started gaining momentum after the first coat of Antique White was finished. Before I was able to feel really accomplished, I had to stop a few hundred times to nurse and rescue my husband from Miss Gassy Cranky Face.  Doesn’t she realize mommy is trying to create a masterpiece!?

PLEASE JUST LET ME HAVE THIS ONE THING!

0efdd61c3a7768ffcb30bdb2dad676c8

I was thrilled (and totally relieved), to be able to take out the HIDEOUS yellow glass panels and replace them with some french country inspired chicken wire screens!

I just LOVE the result! It fits my personal decor style completely!

20150821_175314

20150822_164026

In the home stretch now! Just added a second coat of paint and starting seeing my project finally come together beautifully! Before I knew it, I was standing back looking at this beauty:

20150823_101421_001

giphy (2)

It feels at home now in my formal dining room! It fits perfectly! I am utterly obsessed with it and so thrilled with how it turned out! Night and day from that dingy and dated piece that it was!

Time to add all my Great Grandmother’s china as well as my own personal china collections!

Let’s get decorating!

I just am so beyond thankful that I was able to take a small break from mommy duties (as much as I love them), and really get back to my creative roots!

Till next time my darlings!

kissmedarling

♥Shelby

Leave a Reply

