Summertime Cherry Cobbler♥

Cherry Cobbler

Happy 4th of July!

I am excited to share with you all a great recipe that I came up with for a very simple and decadent cherry cobbler.
A perfect patriotic treat for this Fourth of July!
This will also be my very first blog post that has a baking recipe!  Baking is another one of my passions, and I decided to share that on this blog. Hopefully, it goes over as well as the DIY projects and makeup reviews!
It is, after all, sort of a DIY, right?!

YESARIEL
Alrighty then!

I went and stole all the cherries off of my dear friends tree.
If you do not have a dear friend with a cherry tree to steal from, that’s okay! Just make sure you buy the baking cherries, they are sour and tart. Great for baking!
After raiding my friends tree I gathered a basket full of beautiful, ripe cherries, (that she helped me pick…I’m not a good thief).

20140628_140029-1

Beauties!

I really love baking and making up recipes. Cobblers are actually very easy and can be adapted for your taste!
Here is my adaption for the Summertime Cherry Cobbler: 

Wet Mix:
5 cups washed and pitted tart cherries
3/4 cup White Sugar (I used Trader Joes organic, but use what you have!)
4 Tbsp Brown Sugar
3 TBSP Corn Starch
1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract (NOT imitation)

Dry Mix:
1 cup All Purpose Flour  (I used trader Joes Organic AP)
1 Tsp Salt
2 Tsp Baking Powder
3 TBSP Lemon Sugar (If you don’t have Lemon Sugar just use plain white)
8 TBSP (one stick) Cold Butter

Assembly: 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Mix all the wet ingredients into one generous size bowl, set aside.
Mix the dry ingredients together, without the butter, in a separate bowl.
Cut the whole stick of cold butter into thin pats. Take half of the cut pats of butter and set aside. Use the remaining half to mix into the dry ingredients. Use your hands (or a food processor), to create a crumbly crust.
Butter a large baking dish (I used a 9×10), with the remaining butter that is left over on the butter wrapper (I waste nothing!)
Pour in the wet ingredients and smooth to make it even.
Pour the dry ingredients over the wet and smooth out the top.
With the remaining butter (remember the other half?), place the pats all over the crumbly top. About two inches apart for each pat.
Place in oven for 50 min. The top will be golden brown and the cherry mixture will bubble through the crust.
Cherry Cobbler

YUM!

Let cool for at least 20 min and serve warm with a HEAPING scoop of vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.
I had mine for breakfast with coffee!
Enjoy!
♥Shelby

5 thoughts on “Summertime Cherry Cobbler♥

Leave a Reply

