DIY Autumn Wreath ♥

wreath1
Fall is just around the corner! As we wait impatiently for Starbucks to bring back the Pumpkin Spice Latte, we can create a beautiful autumn wreath for our front door! Or, if you’re apartments have rules like mine, the side of your door.
As usual, I went to Joanne Fabrics and raided their 50% off floral section! I bought white flowers (dahlias and ranunculus -like flowers), because I wanted my wreath to look creamy, dreamy and fresh! The browning green leaves gave the wreath a subtle seasonal, autumn look.
20130901_200605-1
I bought a grapevine wreath as well, these are normally pretty inexpensive ($4-$6 for 18″) so I try to stalk up on them when I can. They work for all seasons!
I started cutting the flowers off their stems, but leaving an inch or so of stem so I could insert them into the wreath and anchor the flower stem with hot glue. Start by placing the leaves around the wreath to get a sense of what you would like it to look like.  As soon as you have a plan of action, start gluing!
20130901_200909
20130901_201356

Don’t mess with it too much and go with your gut! Wreaths are a process, so don’t get frustrated if it doesn’t look amazing right away. When it looks full and lush you will be happy with it!
When you’re all done, you can add a finishing touch like a beautiful ribbon or big burlap bow like I did.  In the beginning, I wanted to add a bird nest, but in the end I decided that it already looked finished and I liked the simplicity.  All I need now are albino pumpkins next to my welcome mat to make Autumn official!

wreath2

Are you excited for autumn leaves, crisp air and apple cider?! I know I am!
♥Shelby

2 thoughts on “DIY Autumn Wreath ♥

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Spring Wreath DIY♥ | Shelby&Glitter

Leave a Reply

