Maybelline Cat Eyes Colossal Volume Express Mascara Review♥

IMAG0490

Hello All!
I thought this mascara would be a winner because of the fabulous commercial and super cute packaging, but alas, those  lying bastards product designers at Maybelline Corporate had me fooled!
This mascara is not awful, but there are much better ones out there.
I personally am a religious follower of the CoverGirl Lash Blast Volume (The one in the fat orange tube in Very Black), but the promise of this description and the metallic leopard print wand, I couldn’t resist cheating on Lash Blast just this once!
First of all, I wasn’t a giant fan of the brush, the bristles are not as close together as the Lash Blast brush that I had become accustomed too. The closer the bristles are the more lashes the brush can coat, at least, that has been my experience for myself and applying makeup on others.

IMAG0491

I did like the curved brush because it helped me get the lashes on the ends well coated, but it did not get the middle ones very well, so I had to keep reapplying to make sure the middle section was well covered.
The brush did not coat and separate my eyelashes very well, after applying a third coat my lashes looked similar to prongs on a fork since they were sticking together so much.
During the day it flaked a little bit, but nothing too dramatic.

All in all, It was a good $6 experiment.

I would much rather use another mascara, I ended up just using another wand for the mascara since I did not want to waste it.
On a scale of 1-10 I would give it a 4. It did make my lashes very dark and the actual mascara (when used with another wand!) did lengthen my lashes a fair amount.
On the bright side, I give it an A+ for the packaging!

 What do yo think of  Maybelline Cat Eyes Colossal Volume?

♥Shelby

 

Leave a Reply

